To new beginnings, by Victoria Sankey

It’s hard to believe this day has actually arrived. So much anticipation, worrying, and wondering went into imagining what leaving my home, family and friends might be like. Having never been to Europe, I’ve only dreamt of what jumping on a plane and jet setting across the world might feel like. I can tell you now, today shattered all of my expectations and thats the best way I can possibly describe it.

I’ll admit I was scared leaving my family at the Newark airport less than 24 hours ago. But having two amazing friends (Alex and Claire) to travel with definitely eased that pain. I’ve travelled alone before and I’ve been out of the country, but there was something different about this plane. I felt as though everyone around me was either from another country, spoke multiple languages or had more experience doing this than I could possibly know. It felt strange to be in this sea of cultured people headed home, to visit family, on vacation, anywhere really! And yet this is my first big trip, my first real adventure. I wanted to believe that I’d feel comfortable leaving the states, but I didn’t. Knowing exactly what I was leaving behind is both a blessing and a curse. And that initial nine hour flight left me with a lot of thinking to do and the realization that this was actually happening.sankey

Before you knew it, we had landed in Munich, Germany. My focus now solely on getting us to our next destination quickly! We hustled around trying to find out where the connecting flight gates were located and whether or not our luggage would make it onto the next plane (thankfully it did!). Originally I thought we’d go through customs, have to yet again check in for our flight and maybe even go through security. But the simplicity of traveling in Europe truly amazed me. An interesting thing about this Munich airport was that everyone spoke English, making it wonderfully easy for us to ask all the questions we needed. But what I really loved was listening to those who weren’t speaking English. German was a given, but I was pleasantly surprised to hear the familiarity of the French language. Again I had to stop and say out loud to the girls, “Wow, we’re here. This is real, we’re actually going to do it.” Mixed emotions flooded my entire body boarding our second, smaller flight to Marseille, but I couldn’t stop smiling. No matter what I was feeling, I was truly happy to be there.

Unlike the dark, red-eye to Munich, the flight to Southern France was beautiful. Once we rose high above the cloudy, rainy weather in Germany, it was all clear skies and sunshine. The scenery was breathtaking, something no picture could ever do justice. We watched out the window as we passed the unreal mountain of the Swiss Alps and small snow covered towns all around it. We knew immediately once we had reached Marseille. The Mediterranean opened up right before yours eyes. Beautiful towns along the rivera, high mountain cliffs and in the distance I swear we saw the Pyrenees. I’ve never seen anything more beautiful in my life. At this point we all were ready to land, to finally be in the place we would call home for the next four months.

sankey2This is where my last expectation gets shattered. My host mom was planning on picking me up from the airport. I was in a ball of nerves thinking what she might be like, if we’d even be able to communicate, or if she’d like me. I walked out of baggage claim to find a woman holding a small sign with my name on it. I cautiously walked over to the woman who then gave me a big hug and the typical french greeting, kisses on both cheeks. I waved hurriedly to my friends as she grabbed one of my bags and shuffled me out the door. She speaks a little English, and I a little French, so we were able to communicate the basics just fine. But in the short 25 min car ride to Aix-en-Provence, my new home, her questions were asked more often in French and scrambled to remember what I learned in high school. I’m definitely nervous I won’t be able to catch on quick enough, hopefully my french course will give me confidence in that sense. After all that’s one of my main goals of my time here in France. Not only do I want to submerse myself in the culture, but really understand the language and speak it. I have a feeling that my host mom is going to play a huge part in encouraging me to speak French. It might be difficult at times, but its a challenge absolutely worth accepting.

For now I am truly so excited about this experience ahead of me. I have no idea what’s in store, but I’m more than capable and prepared for what’s to come. I don’t want to expect anything from this trip, from the people around, or how this is going to affect me. I’m letting go of all of my worries and pre notions of what to expect, I have to let things take their course. Everything happens for a reason. I believe that more that anything. Hopefully whoever you are reading this, you’ve enjoyed this long introduction of this experience for me. It a journey of a life time and I’d really love to share it with those who support and love me. Thank you for taking the time to hear my crazy thoughts. There is plenty more where this comes from.

Gros bisous de Provence,

Victoria

Leave a comment